Arranged for their apps to be the most complete, Google has implemented in its Google Photos a function that although we have disconnected add our location via GPS, photo that we will take a position calculated by the program label. Is there a way to remove it? In a direct way, so no turn it off otherwise.
Converted into the most widely used tool of social networks, photos are staple in sites like Instagram, Snapchat, to accompany messages in Twitter, Facebook or WhatsApp. And one of the basic elements in their tags or labels on the possibility of adding GPS location that have been taken, as make you a selfie on the beach in Santa Monica, in Paris or in Malasaña and re-try it in the tag to be recorded.

Estimated location
Good labelling site in that we are in a photo is that it is something optional, since there are users who like to let know on networks where at all times, and any who prefer go unnoticed disconnected GPS terminal in these cases. But it seems that this last option is not possible if you’re using Google photos, since the PPP, despite having switched off the option Save location, keep adding it not accurately even if approximate, at least this is what a user of the web Androidpolice has made record, asserting that he has never enabled geolocation in the photos.
A look at the terms of Google pictures reveals a fact added in October last year which says that “it is possible that your photos and videos have an associated location […] Google photos can determine a location estimated using information such as your history of locations of Google, which is stored in your Google account”. The company has spoken about this in a statement, confirming that “for photos that do not have information on the location of your phone or camera, now we can estimate a location for that image using information such as your Google location history”.

How to remove the estimated location
Can I disable this function? Well Yes, but it has the drawback that we go photo to photo, video-to-video once already saved, either or we can disable estimated locations before removing the history of locations on Google. But this latest involves the problem that “will be disabled for all your Google account” and all the services and apps, a problem that could be solved simply allowing to remove Google Photos and not other services location.
Out of Android and IOS:
- Open the picture or video in the Google Photos application.
- Playing information
- Next to location, plays more (three points in vertical icon)
- Touch remove location and then delete.
WP-Appbox: Google photos (free, Google Play) →
WP-Appbox: Google photos: free storage of photos and videos (free, App Store) →
The article Google Photos adds location to images like it or not was published in MovilZona.